Book It

Nina Osborne
3 min readFeb 5, 2022
Photo by Gaelle Marcel on Unsplash

When it is time to Book it

When is it ok for the faithful to book it? I an amid reader prefer a book whenever my time is not held hostage with work, chores, or other daily BS responsibilities. I am a firm believer that books bring much to our lives no matter what it is, I wonder when it is ok to abandon mid-way through a book because it is not giving you what you are expecting. I noticed I treat books a lot like my life and no matter how much something is not for me I can never seem to walk away from it even when it is not for me. I guess because I am hoping something will change in the next chapter. This is the Achilles heel of the faithful who refuse to close the book.

It got me to thinking that just like a book if the choices we make we can and should walk away from it if it does not deliver what we are looking for. Someone once said there is never enough time to read all the books in the world. The same can be said about the choices we chose to live with. I see so many readers who set record goals of how many books can I read in a year. This is when quality should come into play and not quantity. We seem to set the same record for our choices as well in life. I came across a book called Wired to Create thinking it was for creative individuals like myself to understand why we are wired to create and what is it that contributes to this fascination to create anything. I figured it would give me some…

--

--